2DOF simulator based on CKAS Thruxim

Running simulator build projects.
Please use the image gallery for your pictures, a short tutorial can be found here.
The first image in the first post will be shown in the project gallery.

2DOF simulator based on CKAS Thruxim

Postby Mertensbart20 » Sun 30. Sep 2012, 10:48

Hello everybody,

I am a teacher electrical engineering and this year I am building a 2DOF racingsim with my students that is based on the design of the CKAS Thruxim. You can see the Thruxim here:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lOzyqhhKTrY

Our design will be identical but our simulator will move faster and will have a pitch and roll of 18° (this one has 8°). Last schoolyear we built this prototype (thanks to the design of Thanos):

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q6HtIFWxAf4

Since we got this prototype running I’m sure the project of this year will succeed. The project has already started but since my students are working on it will take about 7 months to complete it. I As soon as we have something moving I will keep the project up to date.

Below you can find a list of the components we will be using (if you want details, just ask):

• a CX9010 PLC form beckhoff with 8 analogue inputs (0-10V), 8 analogue outputs (0-10V), two encoder modules, 8 digital outputs)
• two frequency invertors Siemens G120C (3x400V)
• two SEW-motors, 0.37kW, 15rpm, 152Nm, with break
• two 24VDC-relays for switching the motorbreaks on and off
• 24VDC powerblock for the relays
• two SICK rotary encoders (1024 pulses per rotation)
• steel pipes for the frames
• a motorcockpit according to the plans of ricmotech (http://www.ricmotech.com)
• logitech G27 steering wheel
• 23” LCD display
• 1 cardan-coupling (don’t exactly how it is called in English)
• a VM140 vellemankit
• the game rFactor