2DOF separated axis outputs

Here you can ask general questions about sim building, not related to the various hardware sections

2DOF separated axis outputs

Postby Tyrion » Mon 4. Feb 2013, 14:41

Hi,

I would like to know if Xsim 3 also offers separated output signals for two axis motion sim, since most xsim based simulators work in joint xy direction so that both motors move motion simulator simultaneously in mixed axis (diagonal) motion (simforce type motion simulator).

So i would like to make simulator that has left-right motion inside 'cradle' for base of up down-motion frame and they would simulate diagonal forces with cooperative but separated movement, eg. one (inside frame) motor gives left direction outside frame down direction and you get acceleration in right corner simulation. Basically like joyyrider type simulator cramped under the seat.

Problem probably is that each motor carries whole weight of the motion base for movement of one axis, but I could overcome this.

The whole point of such simulator is compactness and use of powerful but small rotary servo motors and much larger angles then simforce type sim, so you could choose between shorter but faster movement for car sims or longer but a little slower movement for plane sims.

Thank you for your answers!
User avatar
Tyrion
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed 30. Jan 2013, 10:27
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: 2DOF separated axis outputs

Postby sirnoname » Mon 4. Feb 2013, 15:36

You can control a unlimited number of axis, they can be used for diagonal movement with 6DOF axis combination and they can be used for seperated movement. Kinetic movement of individual simulators (e.g. robot arms) must be programmed into math or interface plugins.
Did you see the joyrider projects in the project gallery?
If a answer is correct or did help you for a solution, please use the solve button.
User avatar
sirnoname
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1829
Images: 45
Joined: Thu 1. Sep 2011, 22:02
Location: Munich, Germany
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 128 times

Re: 2DOF separated axis outputs

Postby Tyrion » Mon 4. Feb 2013, 15:46

Thank you very much for the reply sirnoname.

Yes I saw it but couldn't quite visualize how I could translate diagonal movement to what I want to do. Well basically it will be dow sized joyride type simulator but with option of fast speeds and small angles of motion like with simforce GT type simulator.

I needed that answer since I was thinking about buying Joyride Atomic 2 controller and software, but now I don't see any need for that *

I would also like to know if Xsim code can be modified for any game, even arcades like Test drive unlimited. And how does program get motion data (from direct3D?), Since this type of games probably don't have software telemetry data output plugins.

Thank you again, your help is much appreciated in my first steps into motion simulation world.
User avatar
Tyrion
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed 30. Jan 2013, 10:27
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: 2DOF separated axis outputs

Postby sirnoname » Mon 4. Feb 2013, 16:30

The graphic driver do work with the camera position. The view must be fixed to foreward and you cannot look sideward. The cam moves over the map and the speed and acceleration is calculated from that movement. Does not work with all games but can be improoved in the future.
This is a fast solution, better is of course the memory driver or a own game plugin with memory readouts.
If a answer is correct or did help you for a solution, please use the solve button.
User avatar
sirnoname
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1829
Images: 45
Joined: Thu 1. Sep 2011, 22:02
Location: Munich, Germany
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 128 times

Re: 2DOF separated axis outputs

Postby vicpopo » Mon 4. Feb 2013, 17:37

Tyrion wrote:Thank you very much for the reply sirnoname.

Yes I saw it but couldn't quite visualize how I could translate diagonal movement to what I want to do. Well basically it will be dow sized joyride type simulator but with option of fast speeds and small angles of motion like with simforce GT type simulator.

I needed that answer since I was thinking about buying Joyride Atomic 2 controller and software, but now I don't see any need for that *

I would also like to know if Xsim code can be modified for any game, even arcades like Test drive unlimited. And how does program get motion data (from direct3D?), Since this type of games probably don't have software telemetry data output plugins.

Thank you again, your help is much appreciated in my first steps into motion simulation world.


Hi ,

Look at Thanos thread about amc1.6 here which can drive 2 axis:

http://www.x-sim.de/forum/viewtopic.php?f=39&t=132

The program in amc1.6 can be used with 2 mode:

1- Joyrider that means that each axis must be programed both in xsim 3 .For example for effect 27 longitudinal you have to declare each effect in each axis
2- Frex mode that means that axis are coupled.For example for effect 27 you have to declare just once in one axis ( other is automatic coupled).This feature works obviously for effect 25 lateral ,you declare the effect in one axis and the other one is coupled and in the opposite direction.
User avatar
vicpopo
 
Posts: 645
Joined: Fri 20. Apr 2012, 18:04
Location: Strasbourg France
Has thanked: 39 times
Been thanked: 80 times

Re: 2DOF separated axis outputs

Postby Tyrion » Tue 5. Feb 2013, 15:50

Thank you guys!

I was thinking about using Volvo(or whatever) truck wiper motors, do you think they are better than car's motors since they are obviously more powerful and speed with newer models shouldn't be issue either.

Thanx!
User avatar
Tyrion
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed 30. Jan 2013, 10:27
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: 2DOF separated axis outputs

Postby vicpopo » Tue 5. Feb 2013, 19:48

Tyrion wrote:Thank you guys!

I was thinking about using Volvo(or whatever) truck wiper motors, do you think they are better than car's motors since they are obviously more powerful and speed with newer models shouldn't be issue either.

Thanx!

Bigger motors could be great ( less current(if more voltage) , less heating ) ,the first question is with which voltage 12 or 24 V.
The most used solution is with 12Volt .
You have first to choose this and after you can make your choice for driving these motors (pololu JRK , amc1.6 + h-bridge(not tested yet with big DC motors, New Arduino + h-bridge project, velleman + saberbooth (not recommended here)...plus all the others I didn't know).
User avatar
vicpopo
 
Posts: 645
Joined: Fri 20. Apr 2012, 18:04
Location: Strasbourg France
Has thanked: 39 times
Been thanked: 80 times

Re: 2DOF separated axis outputs

Postby Tyrion » Tue 5. Feb 2013, 23:14

They are 24V(for trucks and buses), I think they should be fast enough also. But I'm not sure if they can move each one axis seperately, since they must move whole weight of the moving construction + person per axis.

What about using 4 standard car(eg. vw golf) 12V wipers, because I saw that wiper motor simulators are noticeably slower than actuator(SCN5) ones.

So you suggest pololu JRK , amc1.6 + h-bridge or New Arduino + h-bridge project?

I have attached screenshot from my (quick sketch)model in Catia, but I think there could be too much stress on motors or even frame if I cramp motors under the seat like that without much needed leverage.

What do you think? Maybe I should use 4 motors, each on opposite sides of one axis, to releave the stress a little?

Thank you for your answers, since I really must know that before I start buying materials.
Attachments
User avatar
Tyrion
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed 30. Jan 2013, 10:27
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: 2DOF separated axis outputs

Postby vicpopo » Wed 6. Feb 2013, 12:17

Hi ,

First I can't choose for you ! At the end that will be your own choice and own design.
As we are not making the dynamic calculation the target , and that is one of the sens of this website :D , is to find some guy's who yet made a simulator which looks like the one you want to build.
There is enough great finished simulator on this website where you can contact the author for getting all advices you need.Go to the project gallery page and find something which looks like to want to build.
We are all made like this , we are all inspiring and sharing each other for building a simulator.

My first simulator is here :http://www.x-sim.de/forum/viewtopic.php?f=37&t=254
I was happy with it and the bigworm motors can lift my weight (more than 100kg) with 12 volt PSU + battery.You have with this configuration to right find the balancing point .

I made a second one for a friend with ac motors:http://www.x-sim.de/forum/viewtopic.php?f=37&t=293

For sure it's much more dynamics , any problem for lifting the load but much more expensive...

With 24 volt that eliminate for me amc1.6 and velleman , Pololu seems to be the solution more used but my point of view is not the the law...

Best Regards
User avatar
vicpopo
 
Posts: 645
Joined: Fri 20. Apr 2012, 18:04
Location: Strasbourg France
Has thanked: 39 times
Been thanked: 80 times

Re: 2DOF separated axis outputs

Postby motiondave » Wed 6. Feb 2013, 14:34

vicpopo wrote:
Tyrion wrote:Thank you guys!

I was thinking about using Volvo(or whatever) truck wiper motors, do you think they are better than car's motors since they are obviously more powerful and speed with newer models shouldn't be issue either.

Thanx!

Bigger motors could be great ( less current(if more voltage) , less heating ) ,the first question is with which voltage 12 or 24 V.
The most used solution is with 12Volt .
You have first to choose this and after you can make your choice for driving these motors (pololu JRK , amc1.6 + h-bridge(not tested yet with big DC motors, New Arduino + h-bridge project, velleman + saberbooth (not recommended here)...plus all the others I didn't know).


define BIG dc motors, I have had JRKS at 38 amps peak and 34 amps continuous on a rated 180 watt motor, but as it is being overdriven, its more like 500 watts
User avatar
motiondave
 
Posts: 997
Images: 1
Joined: Tue 20. Mar 2012, 16:36
Location: Sydney Australia
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Next

Return to Motion simulator building Q&A

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest