3DOF power simulator

Running simulator build projects.
Please use the image gallery for your pictures, a short tutorial can be found here.
The first image in the first post will be shown in the project gallery.

3DOF power simulator

Postby basthard » Sat 11. Aug 2012, 09:43

Hello guys,

Me and my friend the cure we are putting together a project that has been ongoing for many years, since before it came out xsim. :D
discover this site was a breath of fresh air for our minds, because we were stuck. :oops:

First photo


Now we managed to put together the forces due to electronic discovery right here.
We still have some "small" problem with the motor controller of the rotation because of electrical noise that brings us to the K8055 and sent in error. :evil:

begins with posting the video link of the beta test: http://youtu.be/Edsc_NUHLcQ




from here with the time, I will explain the entire procedure. If successful ;)

sorry for bad english but it is easier to write fast with google :ugeek:

for the moment is everything .... a greeting Basthard
Last edited by basthard on Sat 12. Jan 2013, 10:10, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
basthard
 
Posts: 29
Images: 0
Joined: Sun 22. Jul 2012, 09:03
Location: Italy
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: 3DOF power simulator

Postby motiondave » Sat 11. Aug 2012, 11:50

Thats impressive! Well done there!
User avatar
motiondave
 
Posts: 997
Images: 1
Joined: Tue 20. Mar 2012, 16:36
Location: Sydney Australia
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: 3DOF power simulator

Postby sirnoname » Sat 11. Aug 2012, 12:26

X-Sim is registered since 2002, I hope you where not stuck so long ;)
If I would you, I would as fast as possible throw away the pneumatic and K8055d! This stuff is designed for the first tryouts (and costs too much money for the result).
You will loose much fun and a big part of professional look if you continue with this type of engine.
If you both have problems with building the fitting electronics like the AMC board you can contact the staff for help.
It is very simple to add a chain drive to your current pneumatic setup and open all the air intakes to use the pneumatic lever with a electro engine.

The rest of the simulator looks great ... continue your work.
If a answer is correct or did help you for a solution, please use the solve button.
User avatar
sirnoname
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1823
Images: 45
Joined: Thu 1. Sep 2011, 22:02
Location: Munich, Germany
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 126 times

Re: 3DOF power simulator

Postby tronicgr » Sat 11. Aug 2012, 16:49

I had a look on the other video you have there without the music... Pneumatic actuators??



Surely you could use AMC1.6 to move your cockpit way more precise and faster response than K8055d.


Other than using pneumatic, great looking project!!!


Thanos
User avatar
tronicgr
 
Posts: 624
Images: 11
Joined: Tue 20. Mar 2012, 22:10
Location: San Diego, CA
Has thanked: 130 times
Been thanked: 50 times

Re: 3DOF power simulator

Postby basthard » Thu 16. Aug 2012, 15:06

sirnoname wrote:X-Sim is registered since 2002, I hope you where not stuck so long ;)
If I would you, I would as fast as possible throw away the pneumatic and K8055d! This stuff is designed for the first tryouts (and costs too much money for the result).
You will loose much fun and a big part of professional look if you continue with this type of engine.
If you both have problems with building the fitting electronics like the AMC board you can contact the staff for help.
It is very simple to add a chain drive to your current pneumatic setup and open all the air intakes to use the pneumatic lever with a electro engine.

The rest of the simulator looks great ... continue your work.


Hi sirnoname,
We are excited to convert everything to electric with linear screwball actuator but we wanted to know first:
the AMC card can control 4 motors ? with what?
we would use, if possible, these H-bridges: MD03 - 24V 20A H Bridge Motor Drive or advice something else?
AMC card is difficult to program?
you manage to run it on 1 pc?
I am convinced that we will want the isolators for engines (now we have this http://bffsimulation.com/i2c-isolator.php)

Thanks and look forward to answer
Basthard

always sorry for "good" English :roll: :roll:
Last edited by basthard on Thu 16. Aug 2012, 17:36, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
basthard
 
Posts: 29
Images: 0
Joined: Sun 22. Jul 2012, 09:03
Location: Italy
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: 3DOF power simulator

Postby tronicgr » Thu 16. Aug 2012, 16:12

You don't need expensive Motor drivers like MD03 anymore. There are very cheap substitutes all around the internet now.

So, for a 4DOF, you could use:

2x AMC1.6USB
2x High Current Dual Motor Driver

You can drive as many AMC1.6 you want from the same computer. I have a single computer (laptop) to drive two AMC1.6 while running the game on it.
I don't have a video of using two AMC1.6 at same time as I only have one at the moment, but here is a video with my other boards AMC644USB running four axis (its in greek): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G6S50KYwKEI

AMC1.6 is very easy to program. You connect four cables from the FT232RL USB module to its programming port and run a batch file that autodetects and programs the board.


BTW, these motor driver modules have their own isolation from the motors... read their description.

Thanos
User avatar
tronicgr
 
Posts: 624
Images: 11
Joined: Tue 20. Mar 2012, 22:10
Location: San Diego, CA
Has thanked: 130 times
Been thanked: 50 times

Re: 3DOF power simulator

Postby basthard » Thu 16. Aug 2012, 17:52

Dear Tronicgr,
first I had not thought about fit 2 cards!!
second:
you became my guru now!! :lol:

now I just find the time to put the pieces together ...
and I have to prepare the actuators...

i have a last 2 question "for now": ;)

wich kind of encoders could i mount?
there is no way to install an E-stop, otherwise we will do the traditional emergency stop! :oops:

thanks
User avatar
basthard
 
Posts: 29
Images: 0
Joined: Sun 22. Jul 2012, 09:03
Location: Italy
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: 3DOF power simulator

Postby tronicgr » Thu 16. Aug 2012, 21:53

I'm not a guru, but thanks.

For linear actuators, depending on the amount of turns they perform to fully extend/retract, you may use a industrial grade 10k 10-turns or 25-turns potentiometer. Connected on the screw of the linear part more likely.


For DC motors, its very easy to attach some heavy duty limit switches with reversible action using large diodes.



Adding_Safety_Limit_Switches.pdf
(23.39 KiB) Downloaded 594 times



And since I know its hard to find high ampere diodes, here is a way to place in parallel many small ones (6A diodes for example).
How to add many small diodes for End_Switches.pdf
(7.31 KiB) Downloaded 587 times





Thanos
User avatar
tronicgr
 
Posts: 624
Images: 11
Joined: Tue 20. Mar 2012, 22:10
Location: San Diego, CA
Has thanked: 130 times
Been thanked: 50 times

Re: 3DOF power simulator

Postby thecure » Fri 17. Aug 2012, 12:59

Hello, I am thecure, I wanted to take the diplay, I found it,this is good? tks

http://www.ebay.it/itm/16x2-LCD-display ... 3cc70367b6

http://robot-italy.com/it/lcd-display-1 ... itivo.html
User avatar
thecure
X-Sim Supporter
 
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon 23. Jul 2012, 19:09
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: 3DOF power simulator

Postby tronicgr » Fri 17. Aug 2012, 16:02

These are expensive in first look, and why in heaven you will need RGB backlight display?

Here is one for $2.45 ;)
LCD1602 5V Screen Display * White Characters on Blue Display for MCU
User avatar
tronicgr
 
Posts: 624
Images: 11
Joined: Tue 20. Mar 2012, 22:10
Location: San Diego, CA
Has thanked: 130 times
Been thanked: 50 times

Next

Return to Motion simulator Projects in progress

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest