New!!OBD2 Com with Xsim3 and Arduino-New!!

Dashboard, gauge projects etc.
Please use the image gallery for your pictures, a short tutorial can be found here.
The first image in the first post will be shown in the project gallery.

Re: New!!OBD2 Com with Xsim3 and Arduino-New!!

Postby kevin123 » Sat 13. Jul 2013, 14:19

Hello guys

I do not know if the application could make it here, otherwise I apologize

I have an OBD2 bluetooth for my car and use Dashcommand for Android and even torque pro and I was wondering if it was possible to use it also with x-sim .... or do I need a usb cable with OBD2? I saw the tutorial Sirnoname and it shows that usb.

Can you kindly tell me which one should I use and how do I interface with x-sim? and if you just need the OBD2 or need anything else?

I wanted to use my galaxy s4 with android system as a dashboard on my simulator.

Thanks in advance ;)
User avatar
kevin123
X-Sim Supporter
 
Posts: 196
Images: 132
Joined: Sat 14. Apr 2012, 09:15
Location: Italy
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: New!!OBD2 Com with Xsim3 and Arduino-New!!

Postby sirnoname » Sat 13. Jul 2013, 17:57

In your case use WLAN and torque. The BT USB Adapter is only a sample if you do not have a mainboard with BT.
RS232, BT and WLAN is working. There is a video tut for WLAN!
http://www.x-sim.de/software.php?lang=e ... umentation
If a answer is correct or did help you for a solution, please use the solve button.
User avatar
sirnoname
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1829
Images: 45
Joined: Thu 1. Sep 2011, 22:02
Location: Munich, Germany
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 128 times

Re: New!!OBD2 Com with Xsim3 and Arduino-New!!

Postby vicpopo » Sat 13. Jul 2013, 18:45

sirnoname wrote:In your case use WLAN and torque. The BT USB Adapter is only a sample if you do not have a mainboard with BT.
RS232, BT and WLAN is working. There is a video tut for WLAN!
http://www.x-sim.de/software.php?lang=e ... umentation

--tut-- ;) es tut mir leid ... ;)

I will post your code as originally for rpm request ! I added a ligne after rpm=rpm/4 !!
User avatar
vicpopo
 
Posts: 645
Joined: Fri 20. Apr 2012, 18:04
Location: Strasbourg France
Has thanked: 39 times
Been thanked: 80 times

Re: New!!OBD2 Com with Xsim3 and Arduino-New!!

Postby kevin123 » Sat 13. Jul 2013, 19:49

Thanks for the answers

I have both bluetooth and also wireless card
I did not understand what and how do I connect the PC to OBD2 must feed it with the 12v?

If you would like to connect in WIFI how do I know the mac andress of OBD2 to insert it into the router?

Excuse me, but all in English and I can never understand when I translate :oops:

Step by step guide? :D


EDIT:It took me a while to understand..... :D

I was confused seeing the image of OBD2 hardware and I thought that you had to connect to the pc .... anyway I tried setting the com 7 and I do not work and perhaps a driver problem of my card .... redo the blutooth process all over again

Hello

Kevin
User avatar
kevin123
X-Sim Supporter
 
Posts: 196
Images: 132
Joined: Sat 14. Apr 2012, 09:15
Location: Italy
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: New!!OBD2 Com with Xsim3 and Arduino-New!!

Postby kevin123 » Sun 14. Jul 2013, 21:44

It works great! then with Racing Torque Meter plugin for pro and a show ;)

1812

Sirnoname thank you very much
User avatar
kevin123
X-Sim Supporter
 
Posts: 196
Images: 132
Joined: Sat 14. Apr 2012, 09:15
Location: Italy
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: New!!OBD2 Com with Xsim3 and Arduino-New!!

Postby vicpopo » Tue 16. Jul 2013, 23:58

hi ,

I uploaded a new code and a video is coming soon.Look at the first post from this topic. :D
User avatar
vicpopo
 
Posts: 645
Joined: Fri 20. Apr 2012, 18:04
Location: Strasbourg France
Has thanked: 39 times
Been thanked: 80 times

Re: New!!OBD2 Com with Xsim3 and Arduino-New!!

Postby yokoyoko » Wed 17. Jul 2013, 00:40

Thx vicpopo - your engagement is really awesome!

Can't wait to get my parts from "dx" ;)
User avatar
yokoyoko
 
Posts: 392
Images: 28
Joined: Tue 7. Aug 2012, 03:16
Location: Germany / Bad Eilsen
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: New!!OBD2 Com with Xsim3 and Arduino-New!!

Postby sirnoname » Sun 1. Sep 2013, 19:51

To the part of delay. Since the response is verified as realtime it is no extractor issue.
I talked with yokoyoko about this and thanos faster display and I think I know the problem.
My arduino project xpid is using "direct port manipulation" instead of the arduino port IO switching. If I do not use this the H-Bridge get more longer in states with electrical shorts because the pins of the atmel chip do switch very slow because of the slow arduino libs.
Your library for LCD is for sure using arduino port io switching to be compatible with all arduinos. The different is exorbitand as I told here:
viewtopic.php?p=2938#p2938
So you have two options: make it compatible with any arduino and use the slow arduino port IO or make it compatible with the atmel 328 and use direct port manipulation to speed up the communication between arduino and LCD.

Please search the web for a library for your LCD that use direct port manipulation with the atmel chip you use on the arduino UNO/MICRO/MINI.
We could also rewrite the arduino LCD lib to use direct port manipulation for this chip as last option.
If a answer is correct or did help you for a solution, please use the solve button.
User avatar
sirnoname
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1829
Images: 45
Joined: Thu 1. Sep 2011, 22:02
Location: Munich, Germany
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 128 times

Re: New!!OBD2 Com with Xsim3 and Arduino-New!!

Postby yokoyoko » Sun 1. Sep 2013, 21:37

Perhaps I misunderstand something but as I understand all solutions (Thanos USO - Vicpopo OBD2) are using the same library for the LCD. ---> http://code.google.com/p/tm1638-library/

#include <TM1638.h>


Please search the web for a library for your LCD that use direct port manipulation with the atmel chip you use on the arduino UNO/MICRO/MINI.

I looked into the library page (see link above) - can't find the needed infos - but I guess I am too blind (as I don't really know what I search ;-))
User avatar
yokoyoko
 
Posts: 392
Images: 28
Joined: Tue 7. Aug 2012, 03:16
Location: Germany / Bad Eilsen
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: New!!OBD2 Com with Xsim3 and Arduino-New!!

Postby sirnoname » Sun 1. Sep 2013, 22:53

Perhaps a speedup command that is been used by thanos?
If a answer is correct or did help you for a solution, please use the solve button.
User avatar
sirnoname
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1829
Images: 45
Joined: Thu 1. Sep 2011, 22:02
Location: Munich, Germany
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 128 times

PreviousNext

Return to Peripheral Projects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron