Dirt showdown works....and sorting issues

Re: Dirt showdown works....and sorting issues

Postby motiondave » Mon 11. Jun 2012, 02:34

sirnoname wrote:I think the goal is to find a running extradata=1 solution with all features.



Sorry to sound dumb, but what extra features?
User avatar
motiondave
 
Posts: 997
Images: 1
Joined: Tue 20. Mar 2012, 16:36
Location: Sydney Australia
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: Dirt showdown works....and sorting issues

Postby sirnoname » Tue 12. Jun 2012, 13:22

extradata=1 is a option in the config file which enables gauge data for e.g. tablet dashboards and the X-Sim³ OBD2 emulator.
You have only enabled the LFS compatible output with extradata=0. Codemaster is using the outsim TCP port but is missing the LFS outgauge TCP port.
This leads to a single connection with less data in LFS plugin, only the force datas.
extradata=1 is standard for dbox in a untouched config file after the installation of the game.
A entry in the hosts file of windows like
dbox 127.0.0.1
will change the DNS "dbox" to 127.0.0.1 and make the same as you would change the config file.
It seems any change to the config file will make a instable game. So changing the hosts instead of the codemaster file may make it stable.
If a answer is correct or did help you for a solution, please use the solve button.
User avatar
sirnoname
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1744
Images: 45
Joined: Thu 1. Sep 2011, 22:02
Location: Munich, Germany
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 122 times

Re: Dirt showdown works but game crashes

Postby Riton » Tue 12. Jun 2012, 14:36

sirnoname wrote:What happens if you change your hosts file entry in dbox 127.0.0.1?
If you do not change the "original" config file and change the X-Sim plugin to simulate a D-Box it should work? (must be the one after game installation)
I only think that there is some money behind this support.
If this also fails perhaps a dbox forum gives some more answers, would be fine to get it working and we can change the auto install scripts for it.



I want to try, but I did not understand or change this and how. Can you give me more information?
User avatar
Riton
X-Sim Supporter
 
Posts: 291
Images: 70
Joined: Mon 7. May 2012, 16:05
Location: France
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 15 times

Re: Dirt showdown works....and sorting issues

Postby motiondave » Tue 12. Jun 2012, 14:43

sirnoname wrote:extradata=1 is a option in the config file which enables gauge data for e.g. tablet dashboards and the X-Sim³ OBD2 emulator.
You have only enabled the LFS compatible output with extradata=0. Codemaster is using the outsim TCP port but is missing the LFS outgauge TCP port.
This leads to a single connection with less data in LFS plugin, only the force datas.
extradata=1 is standard for dbox in a untouched config file after the installation of the game.
A entry in the hosts file of windows like
dbox 127.0.0.1
will change the DNS "dbox" to 127.0.0.1 and make the same as you would change the config file.
It seems any change to the config file will make a instable game. So changing the hosts instead of the codemaster file may make it stable.



OK, then, so how do I change the hosts?
And as for gauges on dirt showdown, well, there is always an option.....
User avatar
motiondave
 
Posts: 997
Images: 1
Joined: Tue 20. Mar 2012, 16:36
Location: Sydney Australia
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: Dirt showdown works....and sorting issues

Postby sirnoname » Tue 12. Jun 2012, 15:28

Ok, I did not know that you do not know the hosts file.
If you enter in your webbrowser http://www.x-sim.de a DNS server will change this name to a IP 194.117.254.49 and connect to its port 80.
The hosts file of windows will do the same before windows ask the internet DNS:
http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/27350/be ... osts-file/

The codemasters game have a standard config with "dbox" as host name instead of the IP 127.0.0.1
We know that if you do not change the config file all is running fine like by others without simulator.
So if we insert
127.0.0.1 dbox
windows "should" translate dbox into 127.0.0.1
If a answer is correct or did help you for a solution, please use the solve button.
User avatar
sirnoname
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1744
Images: 45
Joined: Thu 1. Sep 2011, 22:02
Location: Munich, Germany
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 122 times

Re: Dirt showdown works....and sorting issues

Postby motiondave » Tue 12. Jun 2012, 15:37

sirnoname wrote:Ok, I did not know that you do not know the hosts file.
If you enter in your webbrowser http://www.x-sim.de a DNS server will change this name to a IP 194.117.254.49 and connect to its port 80.
The hosts file of windows will do the same before windows ask the internet DNS:
http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/27350/be ... osts-file/

The codemasters game have a standard config with "dbox" as host name instead of the IP 127.0.0.1
We know that if you do not change the config file all is running fine like by others without simulator.
So if we insert
127.0.0.1 dbox
windows "should" translate dbox into 127.0.0.1



OK thanks, that makes sense, yes I have seen the standard dbox in the line of code. I will read up on the link tomorrow
Cheers, David.
User avatar
motiondave
 
Posts: 997
Images: 1
Joined: Tue 20. Mar 2012, 16:36
Location: Sydney Australia
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: Dirt showdown works....and sorting issues

Postby Riton » Tue 12. Jun 2012, 20:59

Like this ?? :
and after save and test?
It's ok?

# Copyright (c) 1993-2009 Microsoft Corp.
#
# This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.
#
# This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
# entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
# be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
# The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
# space.
#
# Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
# lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
#
# For example:
#
# 102.54.94.97 rhino.acme.com # source server
# 38.25.63.10 x.acme.com # x client host

# localhost name resolution is handled within DNS itself.
# 127.0.0.1 dbox localhost
# ::1 localhost
User avatar
Riton
X-Sim Supporter
 
Posts: 291
Images: 70
Joined: Mon 7. May 2012, 16:05
Location: France
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 15 times

Re: Dirt showdown works....and sorting issues

Postby sirnoname » Wed 13. Jun 2012, 09:52

all lines with "#" means they are comments.
All lines without the # in the beginning are active.
# behind somethings is also the start of a ignored comment

Code: Select all
# Copyright (c) 1993-2009 Microsoft Corp.
#
# This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.
#
# This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
# entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
# be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
# The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
# space.
#
# localhost name resolution is handled within DNS itself.
127.0.0.1 dbox #x-sim dbox comment


You have to open the extractor, select Dirt2 and then maximize the outsim window in the taskbar.
Verify the correct port numbers, do not change the pass through, only the receiving part if needed (verified with the port of the standard non touched config file).
If a answer is correct or did help you for a solution, please use the solve button.
User avatar
sirnoname
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1744
Images: 45
Joined: Thu 1. Sep 2011, 22:02
Location: Munich, Germany
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 122 times

Re: Dirt showdown works....and sorting issues

Postby motiondave » Wed 13. Jun 2012, 15:12

Ok too complicated for me at this stage, I will stick with LFS plugin, but anyone else can feel free to go down the other path.
I have enrolled in a IT course and may get some more understanding, but not for a while.
Back to racin'!
User avatar
motiondave
 
Posts: 997
Images: 1
Joined: Tue 20. Mar 2012, 16:36
Location: Sydney Australia
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: Dirt showdown works....and sorting issues

Postby Riton » Wed 13. Jun 2012, 17:53

I recorded the code as the window above,

# Copyright (c) 1993-2009 Microsoft Corp.
#
# This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.
#
# This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
# entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
# be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
# The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
# space.
#
# localhost name resolution is handled within DNS itself.
127.0.0.1 dbox #x-sim dbox comment

and I recorded the hardware setting like this:
<motion enabled="true" ip="dbox" port="20777" delay="1" extradata="1"


Now there is a crash in the early launch of the race. before the crash happened at the end of the race. I'm not about to have done correctly, but it seems to have an influance on the operation.
Why not just put "dbox " instead "127.0.0.1 dbox"
User avatar
Riton
X-Sim Supporter
 
Posts: 291
Images: 70
Joined: Mon 7. May 2012, 16:05
Location: France
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 15 times

PreviousNext

Return to Dirt

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest